Books

NIKKI ON THE LINE

Thirteen-year-old Nikki Doyle dreams of becoming a great basketball player. But when she’s chosen for an elite team, she struggles to find her place in this new, highly-competitive environment. At the same time, Nikki is navigating her non-traditional family, searching for a connection to her biological father, adjusting to a changing relationship with her best friend, and developing a friendship with a new boy at school. Life is changing quickly for Nikki. She’s not sure she can keep up.

 

Recognition for NIKKI ON THE LINE

"NIKKI ON THE LINE thrums with life, energy, and adolescent self-discovery." Indie Next List, Kids' Next, Spring 2019

"Perfect for fans of Ali Benjamin and Kwame Alexander." -- Booklist

"A tremendous book about basketball, taking risks, and becoming your true self." -- Gary D. Schmidt, Newbery Honor-winning and New York Times Bestselling Author

"In NIKKI ON THE LINE, Barbara Carroll Roberts crafts a compelling story of a girl trying to fit the pieces of her identity together at a time when everything around her is shifting. Layered, compassionate, and utterly engrossing." -- Anne Ursu, author of  The Lost Girl

"Kids will love this uplifting and realistic book about navigating the different pieces of your identity in middle school." -- Barnes & Noble Best New Books for Young Readers, March 2019

"Nikki is instantly recognizable as an everygirl for the 21st century. She is funny, thoughtful and awkward. She is clever and kind. . . . Readers who know what it's like to strive for something almost out of reach, fail and try again, will have nothing but respect and affection for Nikki. And readers of any age who thought they had no interest in basketball may find themselves utterly fascinated by the sport." -- Shelf Awareness, Maximum Shelf

"Fun and perfectly balanced, NIKKI ON THE LINE is impossible to put down, even for readers who know nothing about basketball." -- Indies Introduce Winter/Spring 2019 List

"A pitch-perfect middle grade novel for all to love!"  -- Cathy Berner, Blue Willow Bookshop, Houston, TX

Extras

Copyright © Barbara Carroll Roberts. All rights reserved.
Designed & Built by Atmosphere Websites | Boutique Author Website Design